Faculty of the Year Award

Harriett Kirk Crago Faculty of the Year Award

Established by IRSC faculty member Laura Kauffmann and her husband Alan, the Harriett Kirk Crago Faculty of the Year Award honors Laura’s mother, the late Harriett Kirk Crago. Mrs. Crago was an IRSC District Board of Trustees Emerita and dedicated supporter of education on the Treasure Coast.

This prestigious award is designed to recognize and honor an instructor who has exhibited, along with expertise in the classroom, warmth and enthusiasm which has significantly enhanced the quality of life at IRSC. The recipient is nominated by his / her students and receives a $2,000 stipend.

The award is presented in front of IRSC student leaders at the annual banquet for the Campus Coalition Government (CCG) organization and in front of IRSC faculty and administrators at the Endowed Teaching Chair Awards Ceremony.
The Harriett Kirk Crago Faculty of the Year Award 2019 recipient is Dr. Heather Adams, Associate Professor, Public Service Education, and co-advisor to the Human Services Club. Heather joined the IRSC faculty in August of 2011 as an Adjunct Instructor. One year later, she joined the Public Service Education faculty full-time as an Assistant Professor in the Human Services Department. In 2016 she was promoted to Associate Professor, the position she holds today teaching both Associate and Baccalaureate students.
Heather’s students and colleagues know her to be a caring, reliable, dedicated, and student-centered instructor who strives to set a friendly, professional example for her students. Course evaluations often refer to Heather as an amazing, informative, and engaging teacher. To further the goal student success Heather serves as the Co-Chair of the Program Learning Outcome Subcommittee, Co-Chair of the Online Teaching and Learning Professional Learning Community, and a Co-Advisor of the Human Services Club. She also is a member of the IRSC AFC Chapter Board. Additionally Heather has been a Take Stock in Children Mentor since 2014. Heather’s students readily share praise for her dedication and commitment to student success.
One student states, “Dr. Adams is a very caring and dedicated professor. She is always available to meet with students and genuinely wants students to succeed.” Another shares their thoughts on Heather’s impact on their studies saying, “Dr. Adams is very knowledgeable about her subject matter and inspires me to be my best every day.” Continuing they add, “She makes class enjoyable to go to and is open to conversation and dialogue regardless of opinion.” Another student enthusiastically declares, “Dr. Adams is an AMAZING Professor. She gives wonderful examples on how to deal with real life scenarios.” 
Previous recipients include:
2018 - Dr. Kimberlie Massnick, Criminal Justice
2017 - Dr. Angie Bailey, School of Business.
2016 - Dr. Larisa Eads, Physical Sciences
2015 - Dr. Patrick Dyer, Human Services
2014 - Ray J. Carpenter, School of Business
2013 - Loretta Fry, English/Communications/Modern Languages
2012 - Sarah M. Mallonee, Ph.D., English/Communications/Modern Languages
2011 - Maria C. Seidel, D.N.P, Nursing
2010 - Terri L. Holly, Computer Information Technology
2009 - June Wells, English/Communications/Modern Languages
2008 - Chrysanthos A. Panayiotou, Ph.D., Electronics Engineering
2007 - Veronica I. Tempone, English/Communications/Modern Languages
2006 - Judith M. Megaw, Ph.D., Biological Sciences
If you have any questions, please contact Brianne Hutchinson at x7856 or via email at bhutchin@irsc.edu.


PIONEER 5K Register Today!

Fielden Institute for Lifelong Learning

Submit a Nomination for Entrepreneur of the Year Award

IRSC Employees: Join Team IRSC 2020!

Congrats to the 2020 Winners

Dr. Timothy Moore Selected as IRSC's 4th President

Registration for IRSC Fall term now open with hybrid and online courses

endowed teaching chairs award presentations postponed

Bob Stork, Founder & CEO, Communications International, Named 2020 Entrepreneur of The Year

Synovus Bank Sponsors Fielden Institute Volunteer Recognition Dinner

IRSC Scholarships

Planned Giving

Dr. Heather Adams Named 2019 Faculty of the Year!