Department Chair Excellence Award

Anne R. Snyder Department Chair Leadership Program
Through the estate of Anne R. Snyder, the IRSC Foundation has developed the Anne R. Snyder Department Chair Leadership Program. This program has two components:

Anne R. Snyder Department Chair Leadership Academy provides leadership training for all IRSC department chairs. This academy is coordinated for the IRSC Employee Development Program. 

Anne R. Snyder Department Chair Excellence Award is an annual award presented to a department chair who has demonstrated outstanding leadership. The recipient is announced at the annual Golden Medallion Endowed Teaching Chair Awards event and receives a $1,000 stipend.
All full-time and adjunct faculty members are eligible to submit nominations for review by the Selection Committee. Department Chairs can also nominate themselves.  The nominee must currently be a department chair and must have completed one year or more as chair to be eligible. The nominee must have attained continuing contract status (tenure) based upon notification dates as specified within the Faculty Handbook.
Selection is based on the nominee’s:
  1. Demonstration of outstanding leadership
  2. Demonstration of curricular innovation
  3. Promotion of student success
  4. Overall contribution toward achievement of the College Mission
The 2019 recipient of the Anne R. Snyder Department Chair Excellence Award is Debbie Liskin, Cosmetology Department Chair. Debbie's department spans two campuses where she leads a successful team of Cosmetology and Barbering instructors and manages two full-service salons. She encourages her team to enhance skill sets and classroom instructional development by being proactive in procuring new technology and equipment to ensure they are providing students with an innovative and effective learning environment. As a cheerleader for her students, she utilizes her community and industry involvement to help get graduates high paying jobs and continues to monitor and mentor graduates during their transition into sustainable careers and beyond.
Debbie's 24 year career with IRSC has included being a part-time institutional assistant, a clerk for Student Affairs, an adjunct instructor, Administrative Assistant to the Vice President, Cosmetology Instructor and Salon Manager.
Previous recipients include:
  • 2018 - Donna Sizemore, Adult Education
  • 2017 - Dr. Elliot Cohen, Philosophy
  • 2016 - Dr. Kelly Amatucci, School of Education
  • 2015 - Dr. Georgette Rosenfeld, Respiratory Care
  • 2014 - David Moberg, Fine Arts Department
  • 2013 - Gale Cohen, Ph.D., Human Services
  • 2012 - Carole C. Amole, R.N., Nursing
  • 2011 - I. Frank Harber, Ed.D., School of Business
  • 2010 - Sherry L. Bowen, Biological Sciences
  • 2009 - L. Dale Hayes - Educational Services
  • 2008 - April D. Van Camp, Ph.D., English/Communications/Modern Languages
  • 2007 - Judith A. Martin-Hall, English As A Second Language
  • 2006 - Alice Serey, D.N.P., Nursing
  • 2005 - Neila R. Bird, Ph.D., Learning Assistance
  • 2004 - Jimmie B. Vandegrift, Computer Information Technology and William A. Tyler, Ph.D., Biological Sciences

If you have any questions, please contact Brianne Hutchinson at x7856 or via email at