Community Programs

Entrepreneur of the Year


Art Allen, President, A&G Concrete Pools 

Art Allen, President of A&G Concrete Pools has been named the 2021 Entrepreneur of the Year by Indian River State College. Established in 1987 in Art Allen’s garage, A&G Concrete Pools is now the largest pool builder in Florida and is listed as a "Top 50 Pool Builder in America," as ranked by Pool & Spa News. Headquartered in Port St. Lucie, A & G Concrete Pools provides pool services in construction, renovation, and remodeling throughout the sunshine state. From humble beginnings, Art has remained true to his values and raised the standard of the pool building construction industry.

In addition to being renowned for award-winning pools and stellar customer service, A&G Concrete Pools is committed to investing in the Treasure Coast. In the past 30 years, the company has donated more than $5 million and 10,000 volunteer service hours to area charitable organizations with a focus on kids, families and animals.



The Dan K. Richardson Entrepreneurship Program
To promote awareness and appreciation of our free enterprise system, the Indian River State College Foundation, Lambert Foundation, and thirteen other founding members joined together to create the Dan K. Richardson Entrepreneurship Program. This multi-faceted program is funded through a leadership contribution from the Lambert Foundation in honor of Mr. Dan K. Richardson, former Chairman of the Board of Gracewood Groves, Gracewood Fruit Company, and the Richardson Family Foundation.
Founding members include Mr. Edward W. Easton, Mr. and Mrs. Carter Hopkins, Indian River State College Foundation, Kahle Foundation, Lambert Foundation, Mr. and Mrs. Gary W. Lindsey, Judge and Mrs. Robert L. Pegg, Mr. and Mrs. Ferguson E. Peters, Proctor Construction Company, Richardson Family Foundation, Mr. and Mrs. Howard Riley, Mr. Walter E. Smith, Jr., Sorensen Real Estate, Mr. Andrew W. Williams.

The Dan K. Richardson Entrepreneurship Program encourages entrepreneurship through education with community lectures and instructional programs. Each facet of this program supports and reinforces the principles of free enterprise that have made our nation great. Business leaders who have helped to build our community are honored through the annual Entrepreneur of the Year Award.
Entrepreneurs of the Year
  • 2020 - Bob Stork, Communications International
  • 2019 - Michael Brown, Harbor Community Bank
  • 2018 - Allen Osteen, East Coast Lumber
  • 2017 - Timothy Girard, Girard Equipment
  • 2016 - Scott Deal, Maverick Boat Group
  • 2015 - Bobby and Marygrace Sexton, Natalie's Orchid Island Juice Company
  • 2014 - Ronald L. Edwards, Evans Properties
  • 2013 - Thomas L. Corr, George E. Warren Corporation
  • 2012 - Jim Coffey, Commercial Realtor and Developer, Earman Oil
  • 2011 - Dr. Richard A. Houghten, Torrey Pines Institute of Molecular Studies
  • 2010 - Alma Lee Loy, Alma Lee's Children's Clothing Center
  • 2009 - Frank "Sonny" W. Williamson, Jr., Williamson Cattle Company
  • 2008 - Vernon D. Smith, Riverside Bank
  • 2007 - Donald C. Proctor, Proctor Construction Company
  • 2006 - Sidney M. Banack, Jr., Sid Banack Insurance
  • 2005 - John J. Schumann, Jr., Press Journal
  • 2004 - Barnette E. and Hariot H. Greene, Greene Groves and Ranch
  • 2003 - Alto "Bud" Adams, Jr., Adams Ranch
  • 2002 - Raymond J. Oglethorpe, America Online
  • 2001 - Robert L. Brackett, Credit Data Services
  • 2000 - Dan K. Richardson, Gracewood Fruit Company