Endowed Teaching Chairs

Through the Endowed Teaching Chair program, the Foundation supports and recognizes outstanding faculty for teaching excellence. At most colleges and universities Endowed Teaching Chairs are used to support research and publishing. At IRSC, where student learning is the #1 concern, our main purpose is to recognize and reward faculty for quality teaching which directly correlates with student success.
Throughout the year, applicants have the opportunity to submit a proposal for projects which will improve instruction, professional development, and/or provide a means to further contribute toward the excellence of the College. Following a competitive review process, recipients are rewarded with an annual stipend of $6,000 per year for three consecutive years. Two-thirds of the stipend ($4,000) is used to support the proposal and the remaining one-third of the stipend ($2,000) is paid directly to the recipient in recognition of his or her outstanding contribution to the College's mission. The recipients are surprised in their classroom or office and formally recognized at the annual Awards Breakfast in August.

Recipients are selected based on a portfolio review with consideration given to teaching and attainment of performance outcomes, overall contribution toward achievement of the College mission, commitment to professional development and the potential of the proposed plan to improve instruction and benefit IRSC students and the community.
For more information on how to apply for an Endowed Teaching Chair Award, review the 2018 Endowed Teaching Chair Application Form. If you have any questions, please contact Brianne Hutchinson at x7856 or via email at bhutchin@irsc.edu
The Endowed Teaching Chair Program is made possible by contributions to the IRSC Foundation. Each Endowed Teaching Chair represents a contribution of $120,000 from one or more donors. Each Chair is named in honor of the donor(s) who have funded the Chair. Endowed Teaching Chair sponsors are recognized at an annual awards ceremony, as well as through appropriate publications and publicity. For more information, or to support the Endowed Teaching Chair program through a tax-deductible contribution, please contact Ann Decker, Executive Director of the IRSC Foundation, at 772-462-4786 or via email at adecker@irsc.edu.
2018 Endowed Teaching Chairs Awarded

Four exceptional Indian River State College (IRSC) professors and one outstanding advisor were surprised with Endowed Teaching Chairs from the Indian River State College Foundation in recognition of their outstanding work at IRSC and to support new initiatives benefiting students and the community.

The recipients are Ms. Ruby Jefferson, Counselor, Mueller Campus with the Endowed Chair in Innovation and Entrepreneurship; Dr. Kimberlie Massnick, Assistant Professor, Criminal Justice with the Richardson Endowed Teaching Chair in Business and Entrepreneurship; Dr. Taylor Kilman, Assistant Professor, Mathematics with the J. Douglas Stephens Endowed Teaching Chair in Technology;  Dr. Helen Wiersma-Koch, Assistant Professor, Biology with the Banack Family Partnership Endowed Teaching Chair in Agriculture; and Dr. Kyle Freund, Assistant Professor, Social Sciences with the BankAtlantic Foundation Endowed Teaching Chair (any discipline).

“Through the Endowed Teaching Chair program, IRSC recognizes outstanding faculty for teaching excellence that directly correlates with student success,” says Dr. Edwin R. Massey, IRSC President. “Today we recognize four exceptional faculty members who, through this program, will implement projects that improve instruction and further contribute toward the excellence of the College. And in recognition of the innovation that occurs throughout the College, today we are delighted to also present the inaugural Endowed Chair in Innovation and Entrepreneurship in support of an important project designed to help first-year students succeed in and outside of the classroom environment.”

Dr. Massey and more than 30 IRSC administrators, faculty, and students surprised the recipients with balloons, flowers, and a miniature wooden “chair” during the presentations. The five Endowed Chairs will be rewarded with an annual stipend of $6,000 per year for three consecutive years: $4,000 to implement their initiatives and improve instruction in their field of expertise and $2,000 in recognition of excellence in teaching.  The Endowed Teaching Chair program is made possible by contributions to the IRSC Foundation.


Dr. Helen Wiersma-Koch will create and enhance equitable applied learning and research experiences for IRSC Biology students. The project’s multipronged approach creates additional opportunities for students to participate in two existing agricultural research projects, as well as makes available new course-based research experiences for every upper-division Biology student. Through these opportunities, students will develop tangible research and scientific writing skills that can be directly applied to future careers.


Dr. Kyle Freund will introduce innovative interdisciplinary student learning opportunities in the newly-established Archaeology and Paleosciences Laboratory through expansion of its artifact teaching collections by offering paid internships that foster mastery of high-demand job skills, and through the development of exhibits and presentations aimed at promoting interest in anthropology and expanding program visibility.

Ruby Jefferson will develop MyAdvisorCompass, an online platform that will allow advisors to use real-time information sharing to help first-time college students better navigate and transition to the college environment.

Dr. Kimberlie Massnick will create the Institute for Cold Case Investigation (ICCI) at IRSC, an applied-learning partnership that gives students real-world experience as they work with local law enforcement agencies toward resolutions on open, unsolved criminal investigations.     

Dr. Taylor Kilman will reduce the burden of high-cost textbooks with the creation of a self-published, open-source college algebra textbook that will be available for download without cost to IRSC students.


Endowed Teaching Chair Recipients
To date, the IRSC Foundation has awarded 53 faculty members with Endowed Teaching Chairs.   
BankAtlantic Endowed Teaching Chair
2018 - Dr. Kyle Freund
Richardson Endowed Teaching Chair in Business and Entrepreneurship
2018 - Dr. Kimberlie Massnick
Banack Family Partnership Endowed Teaching Chair in Agriculture
2018 - Dr. Helen Wiersma-Koch
J. Douglas Stephens Endowed Teaching Chair in Technology
2018 - Dr. Taylor Kilman
Endowed Teaching Chair in Innovation and Entrepreneurship
2018 - Ruby Jefferson
Patterson Endowed Teaching Chair in Humanities
Marilyn C. Link Endowed Teaching Chair Endowed Teaching Chair in Financial Management
Susan H. Johnson Endowed Teaching Chair
Basil L. King Endowed Teaching Chair in Health Science
Gladys Williams Wolf Endowed Teaching Chair in Communications
Community Endowed Teaching Chair in Fine Arts
J. Douglas Stephens Endowed Teaching Chair
If you have any questions, please contact Brianne Hutchinson at x7856 or via email at bhutchin@irsc.edu.


IRSC Scholarships

Fielden Institute for Lifelong Learning: Registration NOW Open!

IRSC Employees: Join Team IRSC 2018!


P. Allen Osteen, CEO of East Coast Lumber, Named 2018 Entrepreneur of the Year

2018 IRSC Alumni & Friends Golf Tournament Raises Money For Student Scholarships

Linda Hudson Named IRSC's 2018 Distinguished Alumna

Donna Sizemore Awarded 2018 Anne R. Snyder Department Chair Excellence Award

Dr. Kimberlie Massnick Named 2018 Harriett Kirk Crago Faculty of the Year

Planned Giving

IRSC Alumni Association