Department Chair Excellence Award

Anne R. Snyder Department Chair Leadership Program

Through the estate of Anne R. Snyder, the IRSC Foundation has developed the Anne R. Snyder Department Chair Leadership Program. This program has two components:

Anne R. Snyder Department Chair Leadership Academy provides leadership training for all IRSC department chairs. This academy is coordinated for the IRSC Employee Development Program. 

Anne R. Snyder Department Chair Excellence Award is an annual award presented to a department chair who has demonstrated outstanding leadership. The recipient is announced at the annual Golden Medallion Endowed Teaching Chair Awards event and receives a $1,000 stipend.
All full-time and adjunct faculty members are eligible to submit nominations for review by the Selection Committee. Department Chairs can also nominate themselves.  The nominee must currently be a department chair and must have completed one year or more as chair to be eligible. The nominee must have attained continuing contract status (tenure) based upon notification dates as specified within the Faculty Handbook.
Selection is based on the nominee’s:
  1. Demonstration of outstanding leadership
  2. Demonstration of curricular innovation
  3. Promotion of student success
  4. Overall contribution toward achievement of the College Mission
The 2019 recipient of the Anne R. Snyder Department Chair Excellence Award is Debbie Liskin, Cosmetology Department Chair. Debbie's department spans two campuses where she leads a successful team of Cosmetology and Barbering instructors and manages two full-service salons. She encourages her team to enhance skill sets and classroom instructional development by being proactive in procuring new technology and equipment to ensure they are providing students with an innovative and effective learning environment. As a cheerleader for her students, she utilizes her community and industry involvement to help get graduates high paying jobs and continues to monitor and mentor graduates during their transition into sustainable careers and beyond.
Debbie's 24 year career with IRSC has included being a part-time institutional assistant, a clerk for Student Affairs, an adjunct instructor, Administrative Assistant to the Vice President, Cosmetology Instructor and Salon Manager.
Previous recipients include:
2018 - Donna Sizemore, Adult Education
2017 - Dr. Elliot Cohen, Philosophy
2016 - Dr. Kelly Amatucci, School of Education
2015 - Dr. Georgette Rosenfeld, Respiratory Care
2014 - David Moberg, Fine Arts Department
2013 - Gale Cohen, Ph.D., Human Services
2012 - Carole C. Amole, R.N., Nursing
2011 - I. Frank Harber, Ed.D., School of Business
2010 - Sherry L. Bowen, Biological Sciences
2009 - L. Dale Hayes - Educational Services
2008 - April D. Van Camp, Ph.D., English/Communications/Modern Languages
2007 - Judith A. Martin-Hall, English As A Second Language
2006 - Alice Serey, D.N.P., Nursing
2005 - Neila R. Bird, Ph.D., Learning Assistance
2004 - Jimmie B. Vandegrift, Computer Information Technology and
            William A. Tyler, Ph.D., Biological Sciences

If you have any questions, please contact Brianne Hutchinson at x7856 or via email at



Fielden Institute for Lifelong Learning

IRSC Employees: Join Team IRSC 2020!

Congrats to the 2020 Winners

Dr. Timothy Moore Selected as IRSC's 4th President

Registration for IRSC Fall term now open with hybrid and online courses

PIONEER 5K EarlyBird Registration Open

endowed teaching chairs award presentations postponed

Bob Stork, Founder & CEO, Communications International, Named 2020 Entrepreneur of The Year

Synovus Bank Sponsors Fielden Institute Volunteer Recognition Dinner

IRSC Scholarships

Planned Giving

Dr. Heather Adams Named 2019 Faculty of the Year!

Submit a Nomination for Entrepreneur of the Year Award