Lifelong Learning

Upcoming Events- Register Now!


Individual Tickets for the Distinguished Lecture Series are now available! 

Upcoming Courses:

  1. Everyone is Intuitive: Awaken and Play with your Intuition:
    DATES: February 28, 2017 (Tuesday)
    TIME: 1:00 - 3:00 p.m. LOCATION: Vero Beach, Mueller Campus, Richardson Center, Strategic Planning Room (C-103)

    Everyone is intuitive but through our society's teachings, we have been encouraged NOT to believe in what we "know that we know." In this Playshop, you will remember, embrace and delight in rediscovering some of your unique gifts.
    We will play and have fun with: • Clairvoyance • Clairaudience • Clairsentience • Déjà vu • Other types of intuition

    To Register, Click Here.​
  2. Great Battles That Changed the Course of History:
    DATES: March 1, 8, 22, 2017 (Wednesday)
    TIME: 1:30 - 3:30 p.m. LOCATION: Fort Pierce, Main Campus, Brown Center, Strategic Planning Center (Y-108)

    For better or worse war has been the most significant factor in the rise and fall of civilizations. Join us as we examine some of the great battles and military campaigns that changed the course of history, and in particular, western civilization. 

    Class 1: The Battle of Tours, 732 AD & The Reconquista of the Iberian Peninsula concluding in 1492 AD 
    Class 2: The Siege of Vienna 1529 AD & The Battle of Vienna 1683 AD 
    Class 3: The Battle of Hastings 1066 AD & The Battle of Waterloo 1815 AD 

    To Register, Click Here.
  3. Psychosocial Approaches Toward an Understanding of Terrorism and Immigration 2017:
    DATES: March 1, 8, 2017 (Wednesday)
    TIME: 1:30 - 3:45 p.m. LOCATION: Vero Beach, Mueller Campus, Richardson Center, Strategic Planning Room (C-103)

    There are multitudes of very horrific events that have recently occurred in the United States and worldwide. This course will examine the psychosocial approaches that deal with two very timely topics; terrorism and immigration.
    Session 1: Explaining Terrorism: A Psychosocial Approach
    During the first week of this two-part workshop will look at the 3 current theories to understanding world-wide terrorism which include macro sociological, psychological, and psychosocial approaches. We will specifically focus on the psychosocial approach which examines how social psychologists view our environment as a combination of psychological processes, socialization, social interaction, and social identity. We will look at our own political assumptions and social prejudices and how they impact on our beliefs, views, and behaviors toward acts of terrorism. We will examine how terrorists legitimize violence as their only outlet for their anger and ask ourselves how feelings of hatred and desire for revenge get activated? This workshop will involve a presentation of the theories and research on this topic, and will be followed by an interactive group discussion.
    Session 2: Explaining Latino Immigrations and U.S. Policies: A Psychosocial Approach
    As with terrorism, there are many different ways to view our Mexican (and other) immigrants who currently reside in the United States without legal documentation. This class/workshop will take a more personal view of the experiences of these particular groups of immigrants based on my work with this population over the last 20 years. In this workshop we will examine case studies of some of my clients in order to better understand the immigrant experience from a historical, personal, familial, and psychosocial perspective. Workshop participants will have the opportunity to ask themselves how anti-immigrant perspectives develop in societies, and whether they believe that current immigration policies are productive and effective. 

    To Register, Click Here.

If you would like to be placed on our mailing list to receive the brochure as soon as possible, you can email the Fielden Institute or phone the office at 772-462-7880.

News & Spotlights

Treasure Coast Happenings Interview on The Joy of Learning

Date: Friday, September 30, 2016
Category: Lifelong Learning News
Summary: Drew Mello of WQCS 88.9 FM, interviewed Program Director Melissa DePriest, on the Joy of Learning and the upcoming 2016- 2017 Offering Sessions. more…

View the 2016- 2017 Offering Brochure

Get Adobe Flash Player


Congratulations! Timothy Girard, President of Girard Equipment, Named 2017 Entrepreneur of the Year

IRSC Alumni & Friends Golf Tournament

IRSC Scholarships For 2017-2018 Academic Year

Fielden Institute for Lifelong Learning: Registration Now Open!

Planned Giving

IRSC Alumni Association

Dr. Christine Jefferson Taylor Named IRSC's 2016 Distinguished Alumna

IRSC Faculty Awarded 2016 Endowed Teaching Chairs

Dr. Larisa Eads Named 2016 Harriett Kirk Crago Faculty of the Year

Dr. Kelly Amatucci Awarded 2016 Anne R. Snyder Department Chair Excellence Award